Profile | History| Rules of Procedure | Governors | Chief Ministers | Council of Ministers since 1957 | Presiding Officers Since 1957 | Deputy Presiding Officers since 1957 | Deputy Speakers Secretaries | President's Rule | Duration of Assemblies | Telephone Numbers | Right to Information Act


The waves created by the birth of independent India had stirring repercussions in native States. On September 4, 1947, the Maharaja of Travancore announced the move to establish a responsible Government. A new Assembly, called the Representative Body was to function as the Constituent Assembly. 120 members were elected on the basis of adult franchise. The Assembly (1948-49) held its first sitting on March 20, 1948 under the President ship of Shri A.J. John.Sri. G. Chandrasekhara Pillai was the Deputy President. Altogether, there were 36 sittings, in which 20 bills were passed. Considering the desire of the Assembly to be granted the powers and functions of a Legislative Assembly and to have a Ministry responsible to it, the Travancore Interim Constitution Act was promulgated on March 24, 1948, providing for a Council of Ministers headed by a Prime Minister and responsible to the Assembly. The Maharaja was to be the Constitutional Head.  


A Council of Ministers, under the Prime Minister ship of Sri. Pattom A Thanu Pillai began to serve from March 24, 1948. In October 1948, Sri. T. K. Narayana Pillai succeeded as the Prime Minister. Among the legislative enactments of the period, the ESI Act, 1948 deserves special mention. In the same year, the Committee on Petitions was constituted.


The Responsible Government in Cochin took form on August 14, 1947. The first Prime Minister Sri. Panampilly Govinda Menon served from September 1, 1947 to October 22, 1947. His successor, Sri. T. K. Nair, had a tenure of office from October 27, 1947 to September 20, 1948. Adult franchise was introduced in 1948. The Legislative Council was renamed as Legislative Assembly. It (1948-49) had 58 members and held 19 Sittings in which 29 bills were passed. After the General Elections in 1948, a popular Ministry headed by Sri. Ikkanda Warrier came to power, on September 20, 1948. A House Committee was constituted in 1948.


In the First Legislative Assembly of Madras (1937-46), created under the 1935 Act, there were 16 members from Malabar. The Second Assembly (1946-51) had 20 members. 


The merger of Travancore and Cochin was realized on July 1, 1949. The Maharaja of Travancore became the Rajapramukh of the new Travancore-Cochin State. The First Legislative Assembly (1949-51) was composed of 178 members of the Legislative bodies of Travancore and Cochin. Sri. T.K.Narayana Pillai, the Chief Minister of Travancore became the Chief Minister of the new State.The Ministry headed by Shri.T.K.Narayana Pillai resigned on March 1,1951 and a Ministry headed by Shri C.Kesavan came to power on 3rd March 1951 which continued till 12th March 1952.The Speaker was Sri. T.M. Varghese. In 7 sessions, 71 bills were passed. In 1949, in the place of Standing Finance Committees, the Estimates Committee was constituted. The Committee on Privileges came into being in 1950.


After the General Elections, on December 1951 the Assembly was constituted w.e.f21st February 1952 having a strength of 109 members.Shri.K.P.Neelakanta Pillai was elected as the Speaker on 24th March 1952. 


The Congress Ministry under Sri. A.J.John assumed office on March 12, 1952 and was voted out on September 23, 1953. The Assembly held 5 sessions and passed 28 bills. It was dissolved on September 23, 1953. The Employees Provident Fund Act of 1952 was an important functional output. In the years 1952 and 1953, the Library Advisory Committee and the Rules Committee were formed.

The 1st General Elections to the Madras Legislative Assembly, held in 1951, after the adoption of the Constitution of India, brought in 29 members from Malabar region to the Madras Legislative Assembly

In the Travancore-Cochin State, elections were held in January 1954 to the 118 member Assembly.Shri.V.Gangadharan was elected as the Speaker on 22nd March 1954. Sri. Pattom A Thanu Pillai, of the Praja Socialist Party, formed a Ministry with the support of the Congress. This Ministry, which fell in 1955, was succeeded by the Ministry of Sri.Panampilly Govinda Menon, who had to end the term on March 23, 1956, due to the resignation of 6 members. On the advice of the Rajapramukh, President's rule was imposed in the State for the first time and the Assembly was dissolved. This third Assembly held 6 sessions and passed 39 bills. In 1954, 3 Committees-namely, the Committee on Private Members Bills and Resolutions, the Committee on Subordinate Legislation and the Committee on Government Assurances, were constituted.


This phase in the evolutionary cycle has been remarkable for far reaching legislative reforms. The long and arduous journey begun years back, had been moving in the right direction, reflecting the will of the people and establishing the supremacy of the legislature.




Profile | History | Rules of Procedures | Governors | Chief Ministers | Council of Ministers since 1957 | Presiding Officers Since 1957 | Deputy Presiding Officers since 1957 | Deputy Speakers Secretaries | President's Rule | Duration of Assemblies | Telephone Numbers

Home | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

Website maintained by Information System Section, Kerala Legislative Assembly, Thiruvananthapuram.