You are here: Government > Legislature


The Legislature comprises of the Governor and the Legislative Assembly. The Governor has the power to Summon and Prorogue the Assembly or to dissolve the same.

    The Members of the Legislative Assembly are directly elected, normally once in every five years by the adult population who are eligible to vote. The present Kerala Legislative Assembly consists of 140 elected members and one member nominated by the Governor from the Anglo-Indian Community.

    The House elects one of its own members as its Presiding Officer and he is called Speaker. Speaker is assisted by the Deputy Speaker who is also elected by the House. The Conduct of Business in the House is the