

RAMESH CHENNITHALA [I.N.C.– HARIPAD]

Leader of Opposition

Son of Shri V. Ramakrishnan Nair and Smt. Devaki Amma; born at Chennithala on 25th May 1956; B.A., LL.B. (course completed); Social and Political Worker.

Started political career right from the school days. Was, State Executive Member, State General Secretary and State President of K.S.U.; National General Secretary, Indian Youth Congress; sworn in as the youngest Minister in the State in 1986; Member Lok Sabha from Kottayam (1989, 1991,1996), from Mavelikara (1999); Member and Secretary of A.I.C.C. and President of K.P.C.C. (9 years); Was Member of Congress Working Committee (C.W.C.).

Was Member, Public Accounts Committee, Lok Sabha, Parliamentary Consultative Committees for Commerce and Finance, Parliamentary Committees for Labour and Welfare, Civil Aviation Consultative Committee, Joint Parliamentary Committee on 'Pesticide Residues in and Safety Standards for Soft Drinks, Fruit Drinks and other Beverages'; Member, Coir Board; Governing Body Member, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi; Central Secretariat Member, World Federation of Young Parliamentarians; President, Youth for Social Action; Secretary, Youth Movement for Non-Apartheid.

Was Minister for Rural Development (from 5-6-1986 to 25-3-1987); Minister for Home and Vigilance (from 1-1-2014 to 20-5-2016) Previously elected to KLA in 1982, 1987 and 2011.

•		·
Languages known	:	Malayalam, English and Hindi
Wife	:	Smt. T. N. Anitha
Children	:	Two sons
Travels Abroad	:	U.A.E., Bahrain, Oman, China, Singapore, France, Hong Kong, Germany, Switzerland, Sri Lanka, Nepal, U.S.A., U.K., Maldives, Spain, K.S.A., Russia, African Countries, Kuwait, Qatar, Thailand, Malaysia, Rome
Hobbies	:	Reading and Writing
Recreation	:	Travelling
Literary Activities	:	Published six books
Permanent Address	:	Kottoor Kizhakethil, Tripperunthura P.O., Chennithala, Mavelikkara, Alappuzha- 690 105
E-mail	:	rameshchennithala@gmail.com
Telephone Numbers		
Residence	:	0471-2316465
Office	:	0471-2318330
Mobile	:	9447777100
Voting Results		
Electorate	:	1,84,368
Votes Polled	:	1,48,190
Shri Ramesh Chennithala (I.N.C.)	:	75,980
Shri P. Prasad (C.P.I.)	:	57,359
Shri D. Aswanidev (B.J.P.)	:	12,985

219